Study in Brisbane


Studying in a Brisbane university has this implication: itís a choice of entering the right school that will direct you to your future career.

Brisbane universities are among the highly respected institutions in the world and will provide you an internationally recognized qualification.

This article will direct you an overview to Brisbane's three universities. Depending on your area of study to pursue, this will hopefully make you decide which Griffith University, University of Queensland or Queensland University of Technology will drive you to the pedestal that you are dreaming of.

Griffith University is a public Australian University that has five campuses located in Brisbane and Gold Coast. The university was named after Sir Samuel Griffith, the former Premier of Queensland, who is also the principal author of the Australian constitution. It opened in 1975 and has been the first university in Australia to offer environmental science and Asian studies degrees. Griffith is Australia's ninth largest higher education institution.


studying in brisbane

Currently, the university is home to 31,000 undergraduate students and 6,000 graduate students. Griffith's five campuses are located at Gold Coast, Logan, Mt. Gravatt, Nathan and South Bank. Griffith's study areas are the following: Arts, Languages, Criminology, Business, Education, Engineering, Information Technology, Environment and Planning, Health, Law, Music, Science and Visual and Creative Arts. These study areas have their own specialization courses. For example, those who are planning to enter the area of Science can choose to major in Aviation, Mathematic, Biotechnology, Physics or Forensic Science while those who want to enter the area of Visual and Creative Arts can pursue to major in Photography, Fine Art, Digital Media, Art Theory or Film among others. Griffith also offers masters and doctorate courses in the study areas mentioned above.

Queensland University of Technology is also one of Australia's largest universities and Queensland's largest university in terms of enrollment with

40,000 students enrolled. Established in 1908, the university has been strongly focused on research that is devoted to technological advancement.
It has four main campuses: the Garden Point, which is located next to Brisbane City Botanic Gardens, the Kelvin Grove, Carseldine and Caboolture. Despite its focus on technical courses, its other course programs have been proved to be competitive. QUT offers courses in Built Environment and Engineering, Business, Creative Industries, Education, health, Humanities, Information Technology, Law and Science. Some course majors include Communication Design, Fashion, Medical Engineering, Telecommunications Engineering, Property Economics, Human Services, Games and Interactive Entertainment, Biomedical Science, Pharmacy and a lot more.

University of Queensland is one of Australiaís premier learning and research institutions and is Queensland leading university, has been named as Australia's University of the Year for some time and is among the top 50 universities in the world according to Times Higher-QS World University

Rankings for 2007. It has three campuses: St. Lucia (main campus), Gatton and Ipswich.

UQ has a diverse course offerings: Media Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Music, Cultural Studies, Biological and Chemical Sciences, Business, Economics, Law, Engineering, Physical Sciences, Architecture, Geography, Health Sciences, Natural Resources, Agriculture, Veterinary Science, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Journalism, Psychology, Social Work and a lot more.