improvement did not help hasten the development of Norman
Park at that time, especially in the interior part and
Norman Creek’s north-east side.
Still, the lack of
development did not deter visitors from enjoying its
picturesque slopes. It was a popular destination for picnics
even way back in the 1870s. Another bridge was opened in
1886, the Stanley Street Bridge. This bridge connected
Norman Park to Coorparoo. Two other bridges were
built after that. The last bridge opened for use in 1956.
Galloway’s Hill was among the first areas in Norman Park to
be settled in. It was formerly known as Norman Hill but was
renamed in 1865 after its biggest land owner, John James Galloway. The Queensland
Deposit Bank later bought it in 1885 and developed it. Its
streets now carry the name of the directors of the bank, as well as the names of poets.
Though development almost came to a standstill after the
1893 floods, some industries were still established in
Norman Park: dairy farms, a foundry,
a leather factory and a broom factory. It remained an
agricultural area until World War II. But development soon
picked up after the war. Norman Park became a fully
residential area. The Housing Commission chose the nearby
suburb of Seven Hills for further development, building on
its land 189
houses by 1948.
This massive development continued on until the 1950s. To
provide playing areas and parks, large areas in the
low-lying parts of Norman Park
were reclaimed. The
detrimental environmental effect of this outburst of
development is now being addressed by the council and
community groups. Starting in the 1990s, they’ve began the restoration of the creek
and mangroves. This has resulted in a flourishing flying fox
colony near Churchie and
the proliferation of mud crabs,
mullet and prawns.